Call for Nominations

The North Ender of the Year Award is seeking nominations for the 2024 awards. This year we offer three categories for nomination.

The Awards Program

For over 25 years, members of the North End community have been recognized for their contributions and dedication to the North End. The North Ender of the Year Award was first introduced in 1996 by Ed Stewart to honour individuals and groups who have made a significant contribution to the protection and/or enhancement of the North End.  

Who can be nominated?

Individuals, groups, students, businesses or service providers who live or work in The North End can be nominated.

  • Reside or work in the North End
  • Has contributed to the social or cultural needs of the North End
  • Has made this commitment without thought of personal or financial gain
  • Is not a previous recipient of the award

Selection Criteria

Ed Stewart Legacy Award is presented in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the North End through community engagement, service or leadership. The nominee should have demonstrated a long-standing, significant commitment to the improvement of the neighbourhood through professional or voluntary efforts. Normally this award is presented to recognize efforts spread over a period of ten plus years, however, a single outstanding achievement may be considered.

Community Builders Award is presented to recognize the community effort implemented by the nominee in the North End neighbourhood. The individual should embody the community spirit and have dedicated their time with measurable impact on the community and it’s residents, demonstrated compassion in ways of touching or enriching the lives of others, showing ongoing leadership and initiative, or sustained and selfless voluntary service

The Heritage Award is presented to those residents who played an integral role in promoting the North End through volunteer actions in the past. These residents may have since retired from community or volunteer duties due to life changes, limitations or relocation.

In selecting the recipient(s) of the awards, a panel of judges will consider the nature of the community involvement undertaken by each nominee and the resulting achievements, using the materials submitted to support the nomination form.

Click to download the nomination form